Their Holinesses

HH Dr. Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin (TUS)

53rd Spiritual Leader of the Dawoodi Bohra Community

HH Late Dr. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin (RA)

52nd Spiritual Leader of the Dawoodi Bohra Community

HH Late Dr. Syedna Taher Saifuddin (RA)

51st Spiritual Leader of the Dawoodi Bohra Community

Saifee Golden Jubilee School or SGJS (formerly Saifee Hall) was established in 1964 by Dr. Syedna Taher Saifuddin (RA), the 51st Spiritual Leader of the Dawoodi Bohra community. The objective for creating the School was to impart quality education in the English medium.

After the demise of Dr. Syedna Taher Saifuddin (RA), His son, Dr. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin (RA) succeeded Him to become the 52rd Spiritual Leader of the community. Dr. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin (RA) took a keen interest in the running of the school. He even personally oversaw the appointment of some of the school’s principals. Dr. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin (RA) also visited the school on two occasions. In his second visit he laid the foundation of the new building which today houses the Girls’ section.

After the demise of Dr. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin (RA), His successor and the 53rd Spiritual Leader, Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin (TUS), guides and blesses the School.

The contribution of all three spiritual leaders in the field of education has been immense. Collectively, they have founded over 150 schools across the world which have provided education to over 100,000 children. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin (RA) also modernized Al Jamea tus Saifiyah, the Islamic University in Surat, and also opened new campuses of the university in Karachi, Nairobi and Marol.

In recognition of their outstanding service to the cause of education all three spiritual leaders were chosen by Aligarh Muslim University to become their Chancellor. Dr. Syedna Taher Saifuddin (RA) held the post of Chancellor from 1953 to 1965, Dr. Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin (RA) held the Chancellorship from 1999 to 2002 and Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin (TUS) was recently chosen to become the Chancellor in April 2015.

All three spiritual leaders have also been conferred with honorary doctorates from prestigious universities. Most recently, Dr Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin (TUS) was conferred an honorary doctorate by the University of Karachi in Sep 2015.